In the beginning…

As I embarked on this new ‘cooking and baking’ experience, I threw advice and caution aside by substituting for ingredients I did not have or could not find locally.  At the time, I figured there would be no problem replacing one type of flour for another type.  Boy, was I ever wrong.

Because I could not find ‘bread flour’, which was called for in the Pain de Campagne recipe from Peter Reinhart’s The Bread Baker’s Apprentice (BBA), I substituted Dinkel Vollkornmehl, thinking that it would be okay.  However, because of the substitution, my dough failed to rise during fermentation and didn’t develop the lofty character that I had wanted and expected.  Instead, my Pain de Campagne turned into a very dense and heavy brotchen.  Note to others:  Spelt flour (Dinkel Volkornmehl) is not an effective substitute for bread flour.  Lesson learned.  Let’s try again.

Image

Leave a Reply

