Embarrassed? Not in China.

Embarrassment isn’t universal. I realized this walking down a busy street in Shanghai where freshly laundered clothing dripped from trees overhead. It’s not often, if ever, that I had seen underwear or bras hanging from trees in the U.S. or in foreign lands I had experienced. But in Shanghai and in many other Chinese cities I visited, they seemed to be the norm. At first I imagined how embarrassed I would be if I had to hang my intimate undergarments outside my house for strangers or, worst yet, my neighbors to see. But then I realized that the Chinese weren’t embarrassed at all. In fact, for them, it seemed a natural part of their daily routine: a necessity without any hint of embarrassment. After all we all have dirty laundry, why should that embarrass us? It’s just a fact of life.

That’s one of the many things I enjoy about traveling and visiting new lands: to question my own preconceived notion of what is and what shouldn’t be and to be able to see things from a different perspective.

Embarrassment? Not in China.

8 responses to “Embarrassed? Not in China.

  1. Pingback: Isn’t Your Face Red: Red Cow Ruin | Khana's Web

  2. Pingback: Red for Danger | alienorajt

  3. Pingback: MARILYN MONROE, DRAG QUEENS, THE POLICE, AND ME | hastywords

  4. Pingback: Daily Prompt: Red | The Wandering Poet

  5. Pingback: Daily Prompt: Isn’t Your Face Red? | Chronicles of an Anglo Swiss

  6. Pingback: Embarrassed! | A mom's blog

  7. Pingback: of shame | Anawnimiss

Leave a Reply

