History outside my doorsteps

Walking across the stone bridge over the Neckar River, I shot this view of the Heidelberg Castle, one of many medieval buildings, fortresses, and ruins that enrich Germany.

Reflecting on my youth I wonder if history, one of my least favorite subjects in school, could have been one of my favorites, had I been born and raised in Heidelberg or in any of the ancient cities of Europe, where history is not relegated to the pages of a thick and boring textbook, but evident everywhere you look. Could this be the reason why most Europeans are knowledgeable about history, politics, and geography while most Americans can barely pinpoint Germany on a map?

History outside my doorsteps

8 responses to “History outside my doorsteps

  1. Pingback: Now That’s Classy!!! | The Shotgun Girls

  2. Pingback: CATS! Daily Prompt | alienorajt

  3. Pingback: Suburbian Blues | Edward Hotspur

  4. Pingback: Daily Prompt: West End Girls | The Wandering Poet

  5. Pingback: Daily Prompt: West End Girls | Chronicles of an Anglo Swiss

  6. Pingback: Daily Prompt: West End Girls | Nola Roots, Texas Heart

  7. Pingback: Memories | Views Splash!

Leave a Reply

